CHRIS CHRISTIE: PRETENDER NOT CONTENDER

christe voteJanuary 17, 2014

By Mike Caccioppoli

Oh-oh, yes I’m the great pretender
Pretending that I’m doing well
My need is such I pretend too much
I’m lonely but no one can tell

Chris Christie was once a man of confidence, at least it seemed that way. He barreled through his re-election bid and many thought his acceptance speech in November was more of an announcement that he was ready to run for President in 2016.

That was then…how fortunes have done a complete 180 for Christie in the blink of an eye. But have they really?  The MSM would like you to believe that story line because it’s sexy and it sells. Governor takes a fall from grace! 2016 hopes dashed! You and I know that is bullshit. Christie never had a chance to become President because he would never, ever make it through a Republican primary.

They really must think we are stupid to believe that Christie could win in states like Iowa, South Carolina, and throughout the south. He may have had a chance in New Hampshire, but even there it would have been dicey. Rudy Giuliani skipped all of those places because he felt an Italian from the Northeast couldn’t compete and in that regard he was right.

Christie, regardless of his last name would be perceived the same way as Giuliani, simply because of the way he talks and where he is from. Could you see him winning many votes with his “Tony Soprano” act in Des Moines or Charleston?

Oh-oh, yes I’m the great pretender
Adrift in a world of my own
I’ve played the game but to my real shame
You’ve left me to grieve all alone

We can even forget about his personality for a moment and just look at policy. Christie is no doubt a conservative, those who think he is a moderate haven’t looked at his record. However according to the Tea Party who now dominate Republican primaries, he is a no good Northeastern liberal who loves Obama and taking Federal funds. That photo of him hugging the President during the Sandy aftermath will be used against him by every other candidate. That alone would do him in.

Those silly polls that show Christie leading the pack by percentage can be flushed right down the toilet bowl. They are meaningless. The laughable primary process we have in this country means a few, mostly small states decide who will be the nominee, with just two states (Iowa and New Hampshire) having the most say. Therefore overall national percentage means nothing.

Too real is this feeling of make-believe
Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal

Yes Christie knows he never had a chance at being President but he still milked it for all it was worth, It kept him and his state in the spotlight for way too long. This is why he is “sad” now, not because his administration was caught red handed but because the shine is now gone. New Jersey will once again be seen as the halfway home between New York and Florida for retirees.

Yes I’m the great pretender
Just laughin’ and gay like a clown
I seem to be what I’m not, you see
I’m wearing my heart like a crown
Pretending that you’re still around

Too real is this feeling of make-believe
Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal

Yes I’m the great pretender
Just laughin’ and gay like a clown
I seem to be what I’m not, you see
I’m wearing my heart like a crown
Pretending that you’re still around.

Christie is now downplaying any possible run. The timing is great for that. “BridgeGate” can be used as the excuse, by him and the MSM. But you and I know it was never going to happen. Christie knew it as well.

Thanks to “The Platters” for those ever so prescient lyrics.

Mike.Caccioppoli@yahoo.com

@CaccioppoliMike

Leave a Reply

